Cruise Gratuity Calculator
Rates checked October 2026 against each cruise line’s official policy.
Work out your cruise gratuities before you sail. Pick your line, cabin and guests, and this free cruise gratuity calculator adds the daily charge, the service charge on drinks and extras, and an optional cash tip budget, using each line’s published rates.
Your cruise
Extras on board
Pier porters
Typical, discretionary: $1 to $5 per bagExcursion guide, half day
Typical, discretionary: $5 to $10 per person, per tourExcursion guide, full day
Typical, discretionary: $10 to $20 per person, per tourExcursion driver
Typical, discretionary: $2 to $5 per person, per tourButler or concierge (suites)
No typical amount published. On NCL, butlers and concierges do not share the service charge. No typical amount is published.Room service delivery
No typical amount published. Most lines add a service charge to paid room service; a cash tip is optional.Favourite crew (stateroom attendant, server, bartender)
No typical amount published. Entirely your call.Enter the rate to see your total in this currency.
If the ship offers to charge you in your home currency, say no: its exchange rate is usually worse than your card’s.
Your estimate
Total gratuities and service charges$259.00
- $129.50 per person
- $37.00 per night
- Automatic gratuities $259.00 (100%)
- Drink package service charge $0.00 (0%)
- Service charge on other add-ons $0.00 (0%)
Royal Caribbean 7 nights, 2 guestsOfficial rate
| Guest | Rate per night | 7 nights |
|---|---|---|
| Cabin 1, guest 1 (Adult) | $18.50 | $129.50 |
| Cabin 1, guest 2 (Adult) | $18.50 | $129.50 |
| Automatic gratuities | $259.00 |
| Drink package service charge | $0.00 |
| Service charge on other add-ons | $0.00 |
| Segment total | $259.00 |
Prepay or pay on board? Prepaying costs the same as paying on board at today’s rate; it moves the charge off your onboard account and fixes it before you sail. Deadline: At booking or before sailing. Guests who do not prepay have the daily amount added to their SeaPass account. If you have non-refundable onboard credit, check whether it can pay gratuities that post on board before you prepay with cash.
Changing the amount: Guest Relations desk, any time before the morning of disembarkation. Changes cannot be made after the sailing ends. The 20% on purchases can also be adjusted.
Source: Royal Caribbean: gratuity policy, checked 2026-10-18.
Estimates only. Cruise lines change gratuity rates, sometimes with little notice. Check your booking and the line’s policy before you sail. Nothing you enter leaves your browser.
How the cruise gratuity calculator works
Most cruise lines add a fixed tip to your onboard account for every guest, every night. The amount depends on the line, your cabin type and sometimes the ages of the people in it. This calculator applies each line’s published rules to your booking so you can see the bill before it lands.
- Pick your cruise line and itinerary. A few lines charge different amounts by region. MSC, for example, bills euros in the Mediterranean and US dollars in the Caribbean.
- Enter the nights and your cabin. Choose the cabin type for each cabin, then set every guest as an adult or a child with their age. Children are free on some lines and charged in full on others.
- Tick anything already included. Packages such as NCL’s Free at Sea Plus, Princess Plus or Holland America’s Early Booking Bonus cover the daily charge. So do prepaid gratuities your travel agent gave you as a perk.
- Add extras. Enter a drink package price and any spa or specialty dining spend to see the 18–20% service charge on top. Add cash tips if you plan to tip porters or tour guides.
Nights, not days. Lines charge per night on board. The night you embark counts, and the morning you disembark does not. A 7-night cruise from Saturday to Saturday is 7 charges, even though you are on the ship across 8 calendar days.
Cruise gratuities by cruise line (October 2026)
Daily rates per guest, per night, from each line’s own policy page. “Partly confirmed” means the line does not publish the figure on a page we could open, so treat it as a guide and check your booking.
| Line | Standard | Suite | Kids | Add-on % | Removable? | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AIDA Cruises | Included | Included | n/a | Not published | n/a | Official |
| Carnival Cruise Line | $17 | $19 | Free under 2 | 20% | Yes, on board | Official |
| Costa Cruises | €11 | Same rate | Free under 4; reduced rate to 14 | Not published | Not stated | Partly confirmed |
| Disney Cruise Line | $16 | $27.25 | All ages charged | 18% | Yes, on board | Official |
| MSC Cruises | €12 or $17 to 19 | €16 or $21 to 23 | Free under 2; reduced rate to 17 | 18% reported | No | Official |
| Marella Cruises | Included | Included | n/a | Not published | n/a | Official |
| Margaritaville at Sea | $22 | $25 | All ages charged | 20% | No | Official |
| Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL) | $20 | $25 | Free under 3 | 20% | Yes, on board | Official |
| P&O Cruises (UK) | Included | Included | n/a | Not published | n/a | Official |
| Royal Caribbean | $18.50 | $21 | All ages charged | 20% | Yes, on board | Official |
| TUI Cruises (Mein Schiff) | Included | Included | n/a | Not published | n/a | Partly confirmed |
| Ambassador Cruise Line | £7 | Same rate | Free under 18 | Not published | Not stated | Partly confirmed |
| Azamara | Included | Included | n/a | Not published | n/a | Official |
| Celebrity Cruises | $19.50 | $24.50 | All ages charged | 20% | Yes, on board | Official |
| Cunard | $18 | $19 | All ages charged | 18% | Yes, on board | Official |
| Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines | Included | Included | n/a | Not published | n/a | Official |
| Holland America Line | $18 | $20 | All ages charged | 20% (spa 18%) | Yes, on board | Official |
| Oceania Cruises | Included | Included | n/a | 20% | n/a | Official |
| Princess Cruises | $18 | $20 | All ages charged | 20% | Yes, on board | Official |
| Viking (ocean and river) | Not published | Same rate | Adults only | Not published | Yes, on board | Partly confirmed |
| Virgin Voyages | $22 ($20 prepaid) | Same rate | Adults only | 0% | Not stated | Official |
| Windstar Cruises | Not published | Same rate | All ages charged | 18% | Not stated | Partly confirmed |
| Explora Journeys | Included | Included | n/a | 0% | n/a | Official |
| Regent Seven Seas Cruises | Included | Included | n/a | 0% | n/a | Official |
| Seabourn | Included | Included | n/a | 0% (spa 18%) | n/a | Official |
| Silversea | Included | Included | n/a | 0% | n/a | Official |
| The Ritz-Carlton Yacht Collection | Included | Included | n/a | 0% | n/a | Official |
| AmaWaterways | €22.14 | Same rate | All ages charged | Not published | Yes, on board | Official |
| Avalon Waterways | Not published | Same rate | All ages charged | Not published | Yes, on board | Partly confirmed |
| Scenic (river) | Included | Included | n/a | 0% | n/a | Official |
| Uniworld Boutique River Cruises | Included | Included | n/a | 0% | n/a | Official |
| HX (Hurtigruten Expeditions) | Included | Included | n/a | 0% | n/a | Official |
| Lindblad Expeditions | Included | Included | n/a | Not published | n/a | Official |
Royal Caribbean gratuities
Royal Caribbean adds $18.50 per guest per night in non-suite cabins and $21.00 in any suite. There is no child exemption, so a family of four in a balcony cabin pays $518 on a 7-night cruise. A 20% gratuity goes on drink packages, specialty dining, spa, room service and minibar purchases, including those bought before you sail. You can prepay at booking or let it post to your SeaPass account. Guest Relations can change or remove it until the morning you disembark.
| Inside, Oceanview, Balcony (all non-suite) | $18.50 |
|---|---|
| Suites | $21 |
| Kids | Charged for every guest; no child exemption is published. |
| Service charge on extras | 20% |
| Prepay | At booking or before sailing |
Source: Royal Caribbean: gratuity policy. Checked 2026-10-18.
Calculate Royal Caribbean gratuities
Norwegian (NCL) service charge
NCL calls it a service charge: $20 per guest per night for Club Balcony Suite and below, and $25 for The Haven and suites, for every guest aged 3 or older. Hawaii sailings on Pride of America add 4.275% General Excise Tax. You can prepay up to 24 hours before sailing, and NCL says prepaid service charges are fully refundable if you cancel. Free at Sea Plus includes the prepaid daily charge but not the 20% on drinks, specialty dining and spa.
| Club Balcony Suite and below | $20 |
|---|---|
| The Haven and Suites | $25 |
| Kids | All guests 3 years or older. |
| Service charge on extras | 20% |
| Prepay | Up to 24 hours before sailing, through your reservation or travel professional |
Source: NCL: onboard service charge, NCL: Free at Sea Plus, NCL: 20% on dining, bars and spa. Checked 2026-10-18.
Disney Cruise Line gratuities
Disney recommends $16.00 per guest per night, including infants and children, and $27.25 in Concierge staterooms and suites, which also covers the Concierge Lounge team. Prepay in My Reservations or let it post to your onboard account; Guest Services can adjust or remove it. Prepaid gratuities cover your dining servers and stateroom host only. An 18% gratuity applies to bar, beverage, adult dining, deck service and spa purchases. Refunds of prepaid gratuities go back in full to the original payment.
| Inside, Oceanview, Verandah | $16 |
|---|---|
| Concierge staterooms and suites | $27.25 |
| Kids | Recommended for every stateroom guest, including infants and children. |
| Service charge on extras | 18% |
| Prepay | Online in My Reservations before sailing, or through your travel agent |
Source: Disney Cruise Line: gratuities. Checked 2026-10-18.
Celebrity Cruises gratuities
Since 29 July 2026, Celebrity charges $19.50 per guest per night in Inside, Oceanview and Veranda cabins, $20.50 in Concierge Class and AquaClass, and $24.50 in The Retreat. A 20% gratuity applies to drinks, packages, specialty dining, spa, room service and minibar. The All Included fare covers your drink package and its gratuity, not the daily staff gratuity. Sailings from Australia and New Zealand include the service charge. Guest Relations can change gratuities until the morning of disembarkation.
| Inside, Oceanview, Veranda | $19.50 |
|---|---|
| Concierge Class and AquaClass | $20.50 |
| The Retreat (suites) | $24.50 |
| Kids | Charged per guest; no child exemption is published. |
| Service charge on extras | 20% |
| Prepay | At booking or before sailing |
Source: Celebrity: gratuities FAQ, Celebrity: All Included FAQ, Celebrity Australia: service charge policy. Checked 2026-10-18.
Calculate Celebrity gratuities
MSC Cruises hotel service charge
MSC’s Hotel Service Charge is mandatory and charged with your fare. The rate depends on the region and is fixed on your booking date. For bookings from 2 July 2026, Mediterranean and Northern Europe cruises cost €12 per adult (18+) and €10 per child aged 2 to 17, with Yacht Club at €16 and €13. Caribbean, Alaska and North America sailings cost US$17 for everyone aged 2 or over. Children under 2 are always free. Pick your itinerary in the calculator to apply the right table.
| Mediterranean, Canaries, Northern Europe, Antilles, Gulf, Egypt, World Cruise, Grand Voyages from Europe or Gulf | €12, child 2-17 €10; Yacht Club €16 |
|---|---|
| Caribbean, Alaska, Bermuda, Canada and New England | $17; Yacht Club $23 |
| South Africa | $17, child 2-11 $9; Yacht Club $21 |
| South America | $19, child 2-11 $13; Yacht Club $23 |
| Asia (China, Japan, South Korea) | $18; Yacht Club $21 |
| Grand Voyages from South Africa, South America, Caribbean or Alaska | $17, child 2-17 $14; Yacht Club $21 |
| Kids | Under 2 free. |
| Service charge on extras | 18% reported |
| Prepay | Charged with your fare at booking |
Source: MSC Cruises: Hotel Service Charge. Checked 2026-10-18.
Princess Cruises crew appreciation
Princess charges $18 per guest per night in standard cabins, $19 in Mini Suites, Cabanas, Reserve Collection and Club Class, and $20 in suites. These rates took effect on 8 March 2026; guests who prepaid before then paid $1 less. Princess Plus and Premier include crew appreciation and the drink package service charge. A 20% service charge applies to drinks and dining. Residents of Australia and New Zealand pay nothing on voyages departing those regions. Adjust it on board before you settle your account.
| All other staterooms | $18 |
|---|---|
| Mini Suites, Cabanas, Reserve Collection, Club Class | $19 |
| Suites | $20 |
| Kids | A daily amount for each guest; no child exemption is published. |
| Service charge on extras | 20% |
| Prepay | Any time before sailing in Manage Booking |
Source: Princess: crew appreciation policy, Princess Australia FAQ. Checked 2026-10-18.
Carnival gratuities
Carnival recommends $17 per guest per night in standard staterooms and $19 in suites, for every guest aged 2 and over. The rate rose from $16 and $18 on 2 April 2026, and guests who prepaid before that date kept the old amount. A 20% service charge goes on drinks, specialty dining and other paid food. You can prepay at booking, by phone, or online until 11:59 p.m. ET two days before sailing. Carnival’s Australian ships do not add a separate daily gratuity.
| Standard staterooms | $17 |
|---|---|
| Suites | $19 |
| Kids | Charged from age 2. |
| Service charge on extras | 20% |
| Prepay | Online until 11:59 p.m. ET two days before sailing, or at booking, by phone or through your travel advisor |
Source: Carnival: Gratuity for Team Members. Checked 2026-10-18.
Holland America crew appreciation
Holland America charges $18 per guest per night in non-suite cabins and $20 in suites, up from $17 and $19 on 1 June 2026. You can adjust the daily amount on board before your account is finalised. Separately, a 20% service charge applies to drinks, bar retail, specialty restaurant covers and a la carte items, and 18% to spa and salon services. Crew Appreciation is included with the Have It All Early Booking Bonus, but not with the standard Have It All package.
| Non-suite staterooms | $18 |
|---|---|
| Suites | $20 |
| Kids | Per guest; no child exemption is published. |
| Service charge on extras | 20% (spa 18%) |
Source: Holland America: Crew Appreciation, Holland America: Early Booking Bonus. Checked 2026-10-18.
Calculate Holland America gratuities
Virgin Voyages service gratuity
Virgin Voyages applies a daily service gratuity of $22 per Sailor to your folio, or $20 per night if you prepay before the voyage. The prepaid rate is locked in and non-refundable. Virgin adds no extra gratuity to drinks, dining or spa, so the daily amount is the only one you pay. Its ships are adults only, so there are no child rates. For two Sailors on a 7-night voyage, prepaying costs $280 instead of $308.
| All cabins | $22 on board, $20 prepaid |
|---|---|
| Kids | Adults-only line. |
| Service charge on extras | 0% |
| Prepay | Before the voyage begins |
Source: Virgin Voyages: service gratuity. Checked 2026-10-18.
Calculate Virgin Voyages gratuities
Viking gratuities (ocean and river) Partly confirmed
Where you book changes the answer. Viking’s US booking terms say gratuities on board and on land are not included in the fare, and list prepaid gratuities as an optional extra. Viking does not publish a daily amount there, so enter the figure from your booking. Viking’s UK Inclusive Value page lists onboard gratuities as included, so set “Where you booked” to UK and the calculator returns $0. Viking ships are adults only.
| All staterooms | Not published |
|---|---|
| Kids | Viking ships are adults 18+. |
| Service charge on extras | Not published |
| Prepay | Before sailing, as an optional prepaid gratuity |
Source: Viking US booking terms (PDF), Viking UK: Inclusive Value. Checked 2026-10-18.
Cunard hotel service charge
Cunard adds a hotel service charge each night for guests of all ages: US$18 in Britannia and Britannia Club staterooms and US$19 in Princess Grill and Queens Grill suites. An 18% service charge applies to drinks in bars and restaurants, and 18% to spa and salon purchases. You can increase or decrease the hotel charge at the Purser’s Office, and spa charges when you check out. Cunard confirms onboard credit can pay the hotel charge.
| Britannia and Britannia Club | $18 |
|---|---|
| Princess Grill and Queens Grill Suites | $19 |
| Kids | Applies to guests of all ages. |
| Service charge on extras | 18% |
Source: Cunard: service charges and fees. Checked 2026-10-18.
P&O Cruises (UK) tipping policy
P&O Cruises includes tips in the price of your holiday, so nothing is added to your onboard account. Its help centre says showing extra appreciation is optional. The line used to suggest about £6 per guest per night before it moved gratuities into the fare. Some older guides still quote that figure, so ignore it when you budget. P&O Cruises Australia closed in March 2025 and its ships joined Carnival Australia.
| All cabins | Included |
|---|---|
| Service charge on extras | Not published |
| Prepay | Not offered |
Source: P&O Cruises: tipping policy, P&O Cruises: what’s included. Checked 2026-10-18.
Calculate P&O Cruises gratuities
Margaritaville at Sea gratuities
Margaritaville at Sea charges $22 per guest per night in staterooms and $25 in suites, applied to every guest including children. The rates rose from $20 and $24 on 1 February 2026, and the line describes them as fixed. A 20% service charge applies to room service, spa, specialty dining and drinks. A separate fuel supplement may also appear on your account; that is not a gratuity. A family of four on a 4-night cruise pays $352.
| Staterooms | $22 |
|---|---|
| Suites | $25 |
| Kids | Fixed and applied to all guests, including children. |
| Service charge on extras | 20% |
Source: Margaritaville at Sea: onboard charges. Checked 2026-10-18.
Calculate Margaritaville gratuities
Ambassador Cruise Line gratuities Partly confirmed
Ambassador sells two fares. The Ambassador Fare includes the Premium Drinks Package plus gratuities, so the calculator returns £0. The Saver Fare adds gratuities to your onboard account instead. Ambassador does not publish the nightly Saver amount on a page we could open. The reported figure is £7 per person per night, £6 on cruises of 16 nights or more, with under-18s free. Treat that as a guide and confirm the amount on your booking before you sail.
| Saver Fare (all cabins) | £7 |
|---|---|
| Kids | Reported: under 18 free. Not confirmed on an official page we could open. |
| Service charge on extras | Not published |
| Prepay | Choose Ambassador Fare at booking |
Source: Ambassador Fare: gratuities included, Ambassador: what’s included. Checked 2026-10-18.
Calculate Ambassador gratuities
Costa Cruises service charge Partly confirmed
Costa does not publish its service charge on a page we could open, so treat these as guides. Booking agents report €11 per guest per night aged 15 and over on European cruises and €5.50 for ages 4 to 14, with children under 4 free. South America and Asia sailings are reported at different amounts in US dollars. Enter the figure from your booking to replace the estimate.
| All cabins (Europe) | €11 |
|---|---|
| Kids | Reported: under 4 free, ages 4-14 half rate. |
| Service charge on extras | Not published |
Source: . Checked 2026-10-18.
Should you prepay cruise gratuities?
For most lines, prepaying costs exactly the same as paying on board. You are moving the charge from your onboard account to your booking, which helps if you want a fixed holiday budget or someone else is paying for the cruise. Prepaying is worth more in three situations.
- A price rise is coming. In 2026, Carnival raised its rate on 2 April ($16 to $17), MSC raised Caribbean and Alaska rates for bookings from 11 May, Holland America went up on 1 June ($17 to $18) and Celebrity on 29 July ($18 to $19.50 for standard cabins). Carnival guests who prepaid before 2 April kept $16. Princess guests who prepaid before 8 March paid $1 less per person per night. Celebrity guests who booked before 29 July are reported to keep the old rate only if they prepay.
- The line discounts it. Virgin Voyages charges $22 per night on board but $20 if you prepay, which saves $28 for two people on a 7-night voyage. That prepaid amount is non-refundable.
- Your agent pays it. Some travel agents add prepaid gratuities as a booking perk. Tick that box in the calculator so you do not count the charge twice.
Refunds. NCL says prepaid service charges are 100% refundable if you cancel, and Disney refunds prepaid gratuities in full to the original payment method. For other lines, check your booking terms, and see our travel insurance checklist for what a policy covers if you cancel after prepaying extras.
Onboard credit. If you have non-refundable onboard credit, letting gratuities post to your account on board can be a way to use it up. Cunard confirms onboard credit can pay its hotel charge. Credit rules differ by line and promotion, so check yours before deciding.
Prepaid amounts may not show on your folio. Celebrity says gratuities included in your cruise ticket do not appear on your onboard account at all. Carnival lists prepaid gratuities under “Miscellaneous Charge” on your confirmation. Keep that document if you want proof on board.
What your gratuities pay for (and who they don’t cover)
The daily charge is pooled and shared among hotel crew. Royal Caribbean and Celebrity name dining, bar and culinary staff, stateroom attendants and hotel services teams. Disney’s prepaid gratuities go to your dining room server, assistant server, head server and stateroom host, plus the Concierge team in Concierge cabins. Princess pools its crew appreciation fleetwide and pays it out as compensation and bonuses.
The daily charge does not cover everyone you meet. NCL notes that concierges, butlers, youth programme staff and beverage service crew serve guests individually and do not share the service charge. Disney’s prepaid gratuities exclude adult dining, bars, room service, the spa and Port Adventures. Spa staff, shore excursion guides and port porters are outside every line’s daily pool.
The 18–20% service charge on drinks, dining and spa
On top of the daily amount, most lines add a percentage to things you buy: drinks, drink packages, specialty restaurants and spa treatments. This charge applies to the price of the package itself, so it adds up fast.
Worked example. A drink package at $79 per person per day, for 2 adults on a 7-night cruise, costs $1,106. Royal Caribbean adds 20%, which is $221.20, for a total of $1,327.20. That is more than the two of you pay in daily gratuities on the same cruise ($259 at $18.50 per night).
- 20%: Royal Caribbean, Carnival, NCL, Celebrity, Princess, Holland America (drinks and dining), Margaritaville at Sea and Oceania (drinks and spa).
- 18%: Disney (bar, adult dining and spa), Cunard (bars and spa), Holland America (spa), Windstar (a la carte drinks) and Seabourn (spa).
- 15% to 18%: MSC is reported to charge 18% on US dollar ships and 15% on euro ships. It does not publish this on its service charge page.
- 0%: Virgin Voyages adds nothing to drinks, dining or spa. Its daily gratuity is the only one you pay.
Most lines bill the drink package for every adult in the cabin, for every night. Enter the price before service charge and the number of adults buying it, and the calculator applies the right percentage.
Kids, solo travellers and back-to-back cruises
Children. The rules vary more than any other part of the policy. Carnival charges from age 2 and NCL from age 3. MSC charges nothing under 2 and has reduced child rates that depend on the region and when you booked: in the Mediterranean, children aged 2 to 17 pay €10 a night instead of €12 for bookings made from 2 July 2026. Disney and Margaritaville charge infants and children the full rate. Royal Caribbean, Celebrity, Princess, Holland America and Cunard publish no child exemption, so plan for every guest to be charged.
Solo. Gratuities are per guest, so a solo traveller pays one share, not a cabin rate. A solo guest on a 7-night Royal Caribbean cruise pays $129.50 in a non-suite cabin.
Back-to-back. Each sailing is charged on its own, at that line’s rate, for its own nights. Use “Add another cruise segment” for each leg. Two 7-night Princess cruises for two adults in a standard cabin come to $504 in crew appreciation ($18 × 2 guests × 14 nights).
Who to tip in cash on top
Cash tips are your choice. These are typical amounts reported by cruise writers, not cruise line rules:
- Pier porters: about $1 to $5 per bag when you drop luggage at the terminal.
- Shore excursion guides: about $5 per person for a half-day tour and $10 for a full day, plus around $2 for the driver.
- Butlers and concierges: on lines where they do not share the service charge, such as NCL, some guests tip at the end. No typical amount is published.
- A crew member who went further: a cash envelope on the last night is common. It is entirely up to you.
Bring small notes; the calculator suggests how many $1 and $5 bills to carry. For restaurants, taxis and hotels on land in your ports, use our Global Tipping Calculator for tipping in port cities on land.
Cruise lines with gratuities included
These lines build gratuities into the fare, so the calculator returns $0 for the daily charge. You may still pay a service charge on spa treatments or extras.
- AIDA Cruises: Bar drinks are not in the fare.
- Marella Cruises: gratuities included in the fare.
- P&O Cruises (UK): Tipping is included in the price of your holiday, so nothing is added on board. P&O Cruises Australia closed in March 2025 and is not listed.
- TUI Cruises (Mein Schiff) (partly confirmed): Booking agents list tips as included in Mein Schiff fares (Premium All Inclusive). We could not open an official TUI Cruises page that states it; confirm before sailing.
- Azamara: All onboard gratuities are included in every cruise fare. Some Azamara terms word it as gratuities for housekeeping, dining and bar staff.
- Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines: Gratuities are included on Freedom Fares for 2026 cruises. Check Saver Fare terms.
- Oceania Cruises: Gratuities for stateroom and suite attendants, butlers and dining staff are in the fare. Beverage purchases and spa services carry a 20% service gratuity.
- Explora Journeys: Gratuities are part of the fare. Destination Experiences and some premium food and drink cost extra.
- Regent Seven Seas Cruises: All gratuities are included except for Serene Spa and Wellness services.
- Seabourn: Optional spa and salon services carry an 18% gratuity that is not in the fare.
- Silversea: Onboard gratuities are in All-Inclusive fares. Older terms exclude spa gratuities; check your voyage terms.
- The Ritz-Carlton Yacht Collection: Gratuities for restaurant, bar and housekeeping staff are included. Salon, spa and shore excursion tips are voluntary.
- Scenic (river): All tipping and gratuities on board and on shore are included.
- Uniworld Boutique River Cruises: Gratuities for ship staff, crew and the Cruise or Tour Manager are included. In Asia, Egypt and Peru, onshore staff gratuities are included too.
- HX (Hurtigruten Expeditions): HX includes gratuities and does not add discretionary charges to your bill.
- Lindblad Expeditions: Included on listed ships. On the others, crew gratuities are extra and no amount is published here.
Regional exceptions. Celebrity includes the service charge on sailings from Australia and New Zealand. Princess charges no crew appreciation to Australian or New Zealand residents on voyages departing those regions. Viking’s UK Inclusive Value lists onboard gratuities as included for UK bookings, while its US terms say gratuities are extra. P&O Cruises Australia, which did not charge gratuities, closed in March 2025 and is not listed.
Paying gratuities in GBP, AUD or EUR
Most big-ship lines bill gratuities in US dollars even on European sailings, because the ship’s account runs in dollars. MSC bills euros on Mediterranean and Northern Europe itineraries. P&O Cruises, Ambassador and Marella price in pounds.
If your card is in another currency, your bank converts each charge and may add a foreign transaction fee, often around 2.75% to 3%. Set “Show totals in” to your home currency, enter today’s exchange rate from your bank or card provider, and add your card’s fee to see the real cost. The calculator never fetches live rates.
Watch for dynamic currency conversion. If the ship offers to bill your account in your home currency, the exchange rate is usually worse than your card’s. Paying in the ship’s currency is often cheaper. A travel card with no FX fee helps too, as does an eSIM if you want to avoid the ship’s Wi-Fi charges in port.
Can you remove or change automatic gratuities?
On most lines you can, on board, before your account closes. Royal Caribbean and Celebrity say you can modify or remove any gratuity at Guest Relations until the morning of disembarkation. Princess lets you adjust crew appreciation until you settle your onboard account, and after that it is final and non-refundable. Holland America and Cunard allow adjustments on board; Cunard handles them at the Purser’s Office. Disney’s Guest Services can remove or adjust its optional gratuities.
Some charges cannot be changed. MSC’s Hotel Service Charge is a mandatory part of the fare. Margaritaville at Sea describes its charges as fixed and applied to every guest. Holland America’s 20% and 18% service charges on purchases are separate from the adjustable daily amount.
The daily charge makes up part of crew pay on these lines. If something goes wrong, the lines ask you to raise it with Guest Services during the cruise so they can fix it.
Cruise gratuity FAQ
How much are cruise gratuities per day?
How much should I budget for tips on a 7-night cruise?
Are cruise gratuities mandatory?
Should I prepay gratuities, and does prepaying lock in the rate?
Do children pay cruise gratuities?
Do I still pay gratuities if I have a drink package?
Which cruise lines include gratuities in the fare?
Do I pay gratuities for the last day of the cruise?
Can I use onboard credit to pay gratuities?
Do UK or Australian passengers pay cruise gratuities?
What happens to prepaid gratuities if I cancel?
Do you tip on a river cruise?
About this tool
Every rate in this calculator comes from one data file with the cruise line’s official source page, the date a change took effect and the date we last checked it. We re-open each official page before publishing an update. Trade press is used only for the dates and history of changes. Where a line does not publish a figure, the calculator says so and asks for the amount on your booking. 27 of 33 lines are confirmed against an official page; the rest are marked “Partly confirmed”. The maths runs in your browser, so nothing you enter is sent to a server.
Related tools: plan the rest of the trip with the travel budget calculator, the packing list generator and the insurance checklist, or browse all Boarding Gate tools.
About this tool. This free Boarding Gate tool gives estimates and general guidance to help you plan. Cruise lines change gratuities and service charges, sometimes with little notice, so always confirm with your cruise line or booking before you sail. Built and maintained by Raja Qaiser.
