Boarding Gate
Get Started
Cruise Gratuity Calculator boarding pass: ship to tips, with a sample onboard account of daily gratuity, drink service charge and cash tips

Cruise Gratuity Calculator

Gate 36 · Money

Cruise Gratuity Calculator

Rates checked October 2026 against each cruise line’s official policy.

Work out your cruise gratuities before you sail. Pick your line, cabin and guests, and this free cruise gratuity calculator adds the daily charge, the service charge on drinks and extras, and an optional cash tip budget, using each line’s published rates.

Your cruise

Some lines treat UK, Australian and New Zealand bookings differently.
Your cruise
Lines charge per night: embarkation night counts, disembarkation morning does not. A 7-night cruise is 7 charges.

Cabin 1

Included in your fare or package
Will you prepay the daily gratuities?
For back-to-back cruises: each segment has its own line, nights and dates.

Extras on board

Price before service charge.
Many cards charge 2.75% to 3%; 0 for a no-fee card.

If the ship offers to charge you in your home currency, say no: its exchange rate is usually worse than your card’s.

Your estimate

Total gratuities and service charges$259.00

  • $129.50 per person
  • $37.00 per night
  • Automatic gratuities $259.00 (100%)
  • Drink package service charge $0.00 (0%)
  • Service charge on other add-ons $0.00 (0%)

Royal Caribbean 7 nights, 2 guestsOfficial rate

Daily gratuities by guest
GuestRate per night7 nights
Cabin 1, guest 1 (Adult)$18.50$129.50
Cabin 1, guest 2 (Adult)$18.50$129.50
Segment totals
Automatic gratuities$259.00
Drink package service charge$0.00
Service charge on other add-ons$0.00
Segment total$259.00

Prepay or pay on board? Prepaying costs the same as paying on board at today’s rate; it moves the charge off your onboard account and fixes it before you sail. Deadline: At booking or before sailing. Guests who do not prepay have the daily amount added to their SeaPass account. If you have non-refundable onboard credit, check whether it can pay gratuities that post on board before you prepay with cash.

Changing the amount: Guest Relations desk, any time before the morning of disembarkation. Changes cannot be made after the sailing ends. The 20% on purchases can also be adjusted.

Source: Royal Caribbean: gratuity policy, checked 2026-10-18.

Compare with up to 3 lines

Estimates only. Cruise lines change gratuity rates, sometimes with little notice. Check your booking and the line’s policy before you sail. Nothing you enter leaves your browser.

How the cruise gratuity calculator works

Most cruise lines add a fixed tip to your onboard account for every guest, every night. The amount depends on the line, your cabin type and sometimes the ages of the people in it. This calculator applies each line’s published rules to your booking so you can see the bill before it lands.

  1. Pick your cruise line and itinerary. A few lines charge different amounts by region. MSC, for example, bills euros in the Mediterranean and US dollars in the Caribbean.
  2. Enter the nights and your cabin. Choose the cabin type for each cabin, then set every guest as an adult or a child with their age. Children are free on some lines and charged in full on others.
  3. Tick anything already included. Packages such as NCL’s Free at Sea Plus, Princess Plus or Holland America’s Early Booking Bonus cover the daily charge. So do prepaid gratuities your travel agent gave you as a perk.
  4. Add extras. Enter a drink package price and any spa or specialty dining spend to see the 18–20% service charge on top. Add cash tips if you plan to tip porters or tour guides.

Nights, not days. Lines charge per night on board. The night you embark counts, and the morning you disembark does not. A 7-night cruise from Saturday to Saturday is 7 charges, even though you are on the ship across 8 calendar days.

Cruise gratuities by cruise line (October 2026)

Daily rates per guest, per night, from each line’s own policy page. “Partly confirmed” means the line does not publish the figure on a page we could open, so treat it as a guide and check your booking.

Cruise gratuities per guest, per night, October 2026 (33 lines)
LineStandardSuiteKidsAdd-on %Removable?Source
AIDA CruisesIncludedIncludedn/aNot publishedn/aOfficial
Carnival Cruise Line$17$19Free under 220%Yes, on boardOfficial
Costa Cruises€11Same rateFree under 4; reduced rate to 14Not publishedNot statedPartly confirmed
Disney Cruise Line$16$27.25All ages charged18%Yes, on boardOfficial
MSC Cruises€12 or $17 to 19€16 or $21 to 23Free under 2; reduced rate to 1718% reportedNoOfficial
Marella CruisesIncludedIncludedn/aNot publishedn/aOfficial
Margaritaville at Sea$22$25All ages charged20%NoOfficial
Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)$20$25Free under 320%Yes, on boardOfficial
P&O Cruises (UK)IncludedIncludedn/aNot publishedn/aOfficial
Royal Caribbean$18.50$21All ages charged20%Yes, on boardOfficial
TUI Cruises (Mein Schiff)IncludedIncludedn/aNot publishedn/aPartly confirmed
Ambassador Cruise Line£7Same rateFree under 18Not publishedNot statedPartly confirmed
AzamaraIncludedIncludedn/aNot publishedn/aOfficial
Celebrity Cruises$19.50$24.50All ages charged20%Yes, on boardOfficial
Cunard$18$19All ages charged18%Yes, on boardOfficial
Fred. Olsen Cruise LinesIncludedIncludedn/aNot publishedn/aOfficial
Holland America Line$18$20All ages charged20% (spa 18%)Yes, on boardOfficial
Oceania CruisesIncludedIncludedn/a20%n/aOfficial
Princess Cruises$18$20All ages charged20%Yes, on boardOfficial
Viking (ocean and river)Not publishedSame rateAdults onlyNot publishedYes, on boardPartly confirmed
Virgin Voyages$22 ($20 prepaid)Same rateAdults only0%Not statedOfficial
Windstar CruisesNot publishedSame rateAll ages charged18%Not statedPartly confirmed
Explora JourneysIncludedIncludedn/a0%n/aOfficial
Regent Seven Seas CruisesIncludedIncludedn/a0%n/aOfficial
SeabournIncludedIncludedn/a0% (spa 18%)n/aOfficial
SilverseaIncludedIncludedn/a0%n/aOfficial
The Ritz-Carlton Yacht CollectionIncludedIncludedn/a0%n/aOfficial
AmaWaterways€22.14Same rateAll ages chargedNot publishedYes, on boardOfficial
Avalon WaterwaysNot publishedSame rateAll ages chargedNot publishedYes, on boardPartly confirmed
Scenic (river)IncludedIncludedn/a0%n/aOfficial
Uniworld Boutique River CruisesIncludedIncludedn/a0%n/aOfficial
HX (Hurtigruten Expeditions)IncludedIncludedn/a0%n/aOfficial
Lindblad ExpeditionsIncludedIncludedn/aNot publishedn/aOfficial

Royal Caribbean gratuities

Royal Caribbean adds $18.50 per guest per night in non-suite cabins and $21.00 in any suite. There is no child exemption, so a family of four in a balcony cabin pays $518 on a 7-night cruise. A 20% gratuity goes on drink packages, specialty dining, spa, room service and minibar purchases, including those bought before you sail. You can prepay at booking or let it post to your SeaPass account. Guest Relations can change or remove it until the morning you disembark.

Royal Caribbean gratuity rates
Inside, Oceanview, Balcony (all non-suite)$18.50
Suites$21
KidsCharged for every guest; no child exemption is published.
Service charge on extras20%
PrepayAt booking or before sailing

Source: Royal Caribbean: gratuity policy. Checked 2026-10-18.

Norwegian (NCL) service charge

NCL calls it a service charge: $20 per guest per night for Club Balcony Suite and below, and $25 for The Haven and suites, for every guest aged 3 or older. Hawaii sailings on Pride of America add 4.275% General Excise Tax. You can prepay up to 24 hours before sailing, and NCL says prepaid service charges are fully refundable if you cancel. Free at Sea Plus includes the prepaid daily charge but not the 20% on drinks, specialty dining and spa.

Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL) gratuity rates
Club Balcony Suite and below$20
The Haven and Suites$25
KidsAll guests 3 years or older.
Service charge on extras20%
PrepayUp to 24 hours before sailing, through your reservation or travel professional

Source: NCL: onboard service charge, NCL: Free at Sea Plus, NCL: 20% on dining, bars and spa. Checked 2026-10-18.

Disney Cruise Line gratuities

Disney recommends $16.00 per guest per night, including infants and children, and $27.25 in Concierge staterooms and suites, which also covers the Concierge Lounge team. Prepay in My Reservations or let it post to your onboard account; Guest Services can adjust or remove it. Prepaid gratuities cover your dining servers and stateroom host only. An 18% gratuity applies to bar, beverage, adult dining, deck service and spa purchases. Refunds of prepaid gratuities go back in full to the original payment.

Disney Cruise Line gratuity rates
Inside, Oceanview, Verandah$16
Concierge staterooms and suites$27.25
KidsRecommended for every stateroom guest, including infants and children.
Service charge on extras18%
PrepayOnline in My Reservations before sailing, or through your travel agent

Source: Disney Cruise Line: gratuities. Checked 2026-10-18.

Celebrity Cruises gratuities

Since 29 July 2026, Celebrity charges $19.50 per guest per night in Inside, Oceanview and Veranda cabins, $20.50 in Concierge Class and AquaClass, and $24.50 in The Retreat. A 20% gratuity applies to drinks, packages, specialty dining, spa, room service and minibar. The All Included fare covers your drink package and its gratuity, not the daily staff gratuity. Sailings from Australia and New Zealand include the service charge. Guest Relations can change gratuities until the morning of disembarkation.

Celebrity Cruises gratuity rates
Inside, Oceanview, Veranda$19.50
Concierge Class and AquaClass$20.50
The Retreat (suites)$24.50
KidsCharged per guest; no child exemption is published.
Service charge on extras20%
PrepayAt booking or before sailing

Source: Celebrity: gratuities FAQ, Celebrity: All Included FAQ, Celebrity Australia: service charge policy. Checked 2026-10-18.

MSC Cruises hotel service charge

MSC’s Hotel Service Charge is mandatory and charged with your fare. The rate depends on the region and is fixed on your booking date. For bookings from 2 July 2026, Mediterranean and Northern Europe cruises cost €12 per adult (18+) and €10 per child aged 2 to 17, with Yacht Club at €16 and €13. Caribbean, Alaska and North America sailings cost US$17 for everyone aged 2 or over. Children under 2 are always free. Pick your itinerary in the calculator to apply the right table.

MSC Cruises gratuity rates
Mediterranean, Canaries, Northern Europe, Antilles, Gulf, Egypt, World Cruise, Grand Voyages from Europe or Gulf€12, child 2-17 €10; Yacht Club €16
Caribbean, Alaska, Bermuda, Canada and New England$17; Yacht Club $23
South Africa$17, child 2-11 $9; Yacht Club $21
South America$19, child 2-11 $13; Yacht Club $23
Asia (China, Japan, South Korea)$18; Yacht Club $21
Grand Voyages from South Africa, South America, Caribbean or Alaska$17, child 2-17 $14; Yacht Club $21
KidsUnder 2 free.
Service charge on extras18% reported
PrepayCharged with your fare at booking

Source: MSC Cruises: Hotel Service Charge. Checked 2026-10-18.

Princess Cruises crew appreciation

Princess charges $18 per guest per night in standard cabins, $19 in Mini Suites, Cabanas, Reserve Collection and Club Class, and $20 in suites. These rates took effect on 8 March 2026; guests who prepaid before then paid $1 less. Princess Plus and Premier include crew appreciation and the drink package service charge. A 20% service charge applies to drinks and dining. Residents of Australia and New Zealand pay nothing on voyages departing those regions. Adjust it on board before you settle your account.

Princess Cruises gratuity rates
All other staterooms$18
Mini Suites, Cabanas, Reserve Collection, Club Class$19
Suites$20
KidsA daily amount for each guest; no child exemption is published.
Service charge on extras20%
PrepayAny time before sailing in Manage Booking

Source: Princess: crew appreciation policy, Princess Australia FAQ. Checked 2026-10-18.

Carnival gratuities

Carnival recommends $17 per guest per night in standard staterooms and $19 in suites, for every guest aged 2 and over. The rate rose from $16 and $18 on 2 April 2026, and guests who prepaid before that date kept the old amount. A 20% service charge goes on drinks, specialty dining and other paid food. You can prepay at booking, by phone, or online until 11:59 p.m. ET two days before sailing. Carnival’s Australian ships do not add a separate daily gratuity.

Carnival Cruise Line gratuity rates
Standard staterooms$17
Suites$19
KidsCharged from age 2.
Service charge on extras20%
PrepayOnline until 11:59 p.m. ET two days before sailing, or at booking, by phone or through your travel advisor

Source: Carnival: Gratuity for Team Members. Checked 2026-10-18.

Holland America crew appreciation

Holland America charges $18 per guest per night in non-suite cabins and $20 in suites, up from $17 and $19 on 1 June 2026. You can adjust the daily amount on board before your account is finalised. Separately, a 20% service charge applies to drinks, bar retail, specialty restaurant covers and a la carte items, and 18% to spa and salon services. Crew Appreciation is included with the Have It All Early Booking Bonus, but not with the standard Have It All package.

Holland America Line gratuity rates
Non-suite staterooms$18
Suites$20
KidsPer guest; no child exemption is published.
Service charge on extras20% (spa 18%)

Source: Holland America: Crew Appreciation, Holland America: Early Booking Bonus. Checked 2026-10-18.

Virgin Voyages service gratuity

Virgin Voyages applies a daily service gratuity of $22 per Sailor to your folio, or $20 per night if you prepay before the voyage. The prepaid rate is locked in and non-refundable. Virgin adds no extra gratuity to drinks, dining or spa, so the daily amount is the only one you pay. Its ships are adults only, so there are no child rates. For two Sailors on a 7-night voyage, prepaying costs $280 instead of $308.

Virgin Voyages gratuity rates
All cabins$22 on board, $20 prepaid
KidsAdults-only line.
Service charge on extras0%
PrepayBefore the voyage begins

Source: Virgin Voyages: service gratuity. Checked 2026-10-18.

Viking gratuities (ocean and river) Partly confirmed

Where you book changes the answer. Viking’s US booking terms say gratuities on board and on land are not included in the fare, and list prepaid gratuities as an optional extra. Viking does not publish a daily amount there, so enter the figure from your booking. Viking’s UK Inclusive Value page lists onboard gratuities as included, so set “Where you booked” to UK and the calculator returns $0. Viking ships are adults only.

Viking (ocean and river) gratuity rates
All stateroomsNot published
KidsViking ships are adults 18+.
Service charge on extrasNot published
PrepayBefore sailing, as an optional prepaid gratuity

Source: Viking US booking terms (PDF), Viking UK: Inclusive Value. Checked 2026-10-18.

Cunard hotel service charge

Cunard adds a hotel service charge each night for guests of all ages: US$18 in Britannia and Britannia Club staterooms and US$19 in Princess Grill and Queens Grill suites. An 18% service charge applies to drinks in bars and restaurants, and 18% to spa and salon purchases. You can increase or decrease the hotel charge at the Purser’s Office, and spa charges when you check out. Cunard confirms onboard credit can pay the hotel charge.

Cunard gratuity rates
Britannia and Britannia Club$18
Princess Grill and Queens Grill Suites$19
KidsApplies to guests of all ages.
Service charge on extras18%

Source: Cunard: service charges and fees. Checked 2026-10-18.

P&O Cruises (UK) tipping policy

P&O Cruises includes tips in the price of your holiday, so nothing is added to your onboard account. Its help centre says showing extra appreciation is optional. The line used to suggest about £6 per guest per night before it moved gratuities into the fare. Some older guides still quote that figure, so ignore it when you budget. P&O Cruises Australia closed in March 2025 and its ships joined Carnival Australia.

P&O Cruises (UK) gratuity rates
All cabinsIncluded
Service charge on extrasNot published
PrepayNot offered

Source: P&O Cruises: tipping policy, P&O Cruises: what’s included. Checked 2026-10-18.

Margaritaville at Sea gratuities

Margaritaville at Sea charges $22 per guest per night in staterooms and $25 in suites, applied to every guest including children. The rates rose from $20 and $24 on 1 February 2026, and the line describes them as fixed. A 20% service charge applies to room service, spa, specialty dining and drinks. A separate fuel supplement may also appear on your account; that is not a gratuity. A family of four on a 4-night cruise pays $352.

Margaritaville at Sea gratuity rates
Staterooms$22
Suites$25
KidsFixed and applied to all guests, including children.
Service charge on extras20%

Source: Margaritaville at Sea: onboard charges. Checked 2026-10-18.

Ambassador Cruise Line gratuities Partly confirmed

Ambassador sells two fares. The Ambassador Fare includes the Premium Drinks Package plus gratuities, so the calculator returns £0. The Saver Fare adds gratuities to your onboard account instead. Ambassador does not publish the nightly Saver amount on a page we could open. The reported figure is £7 per person per night, £6 on cruises of 16 nights or more, with under-18s free. Treat that as a guide and confirm the amount on your booking before you sail.

Ambassador Cruise Line gratuity rates
Saver Fare (all cabins)£7
KidsReported: under 18 free. Not confirmed on an official page we could open.
Service charge on extrasNot published
PrepayChoose Ambassador Fare at booking

Source: Ambassador Fare: gratuities included, Ambassador: what’s included. Checked 2026-10-18.

Costa Cruises service charge Partly confirmed

Costa does not publish its service charge on a page we could open, so treat these as guides. Booking agents report €11 per guest per night aged 15 and over on European cruises and €5.50 for ages 4 to 14, with children under 4 free. South America and Asia sailings are reported at different amounts in US dollars. Enter the figure from your booking to replace the estimate.

Costa Cruises gratuity rates
All cabins (Europe)€11
KidsReported: under 4 free, ages 4-14 half rate.
Service charge on extrasNot published

Source: . Checked 2026-10-18.

Should you prepay cruise gratuities?

For most lines, prepaying costs exactly the same as paying on board. You are moving the charge from your onboard account to your booking, which helps if you want a fixed holiday budget or someone else is paying for the cruise. Prepaying is worth more in three situations.

  • A price rise is coming. In 2026, Carnival raised its rate on 2 April ($16 to $17), MSC raised Caribbean and Alaska rates for bookings from 11 May, Holland America went up on 1 June ($17 to $18) and Celebrity on 29 July ($18 to $19.50 for standard cabins). Carnival guests who prepaid before 2 April kept $16. Princess guests who prepaid before 8 March paid $1 less per person per night. Celebrity guests who booked before 29 July are reported to keep the old rate only if they prepay.
  • The line discounts it. Virgin Voyages charges $22 per night on board but $20 if you prepay, which saves $28 for two people on a 7-night voyage. That prepaid amount is non-refundable.
  • Your agent pays it. Some travel agents add prepaid gratuities as a booking perk. Tick that box in the calculator so you do not count the charge twice.

Refunds. NCL says prepaid service charges are 100% refundable if you cancel, and Disney refunds prepaid gratuities in full to the original payment method. For other lines, check your booking terms, and see our travel insurance checklist for what a policy covers if you cancel after prepaying extras.

Onboard credit. If you have non-refundable onboard credit, letting gratuities post to your account on board can be a way to use it up. Cunard confirms onboard credit can pay its hotel charge. Credit rules differ by line and promotion, so check yours before deciding.

Prepaid amounts may not show on your folio. Celebrity says gratuities included in your cruise ticket do not appear on your onboard account at all. Carnival lists prepaid gratuities under “Miscellaneous Charge” on your confirmation. Keep that document if you want proof on board.

What your gratuities pay for (and who they don’t cover)

The daily charge is pooled and shared among hotel crew. Royal Caribbean and Celebrity name dining, bar and culinary staff, stateroom attendants and hotel services teams. Disney’s prepaid gratuities go to your dining room server, assistant server, head server and stateroom host, plus the Concierge team in Concierge cabins. Princess pools its crew appreciation fleetwide and pays it out as compensation and bonuses.

The daily charge does not cover everyone you meet. NCL notes that concierges, butlers, youth programme staff and beverage service crew serve guests individually and do not share the service charge. Disney’s prepaid gratuities exclude adult dining, bars, room service, the spa and Port Adventures. Spa staff, shore excursion guides and port porters are outside every line’s daily pool.

The 18–20% service charge on drinks, dining and spa

On top of the daily amount, most lines add a percentage to things you buy: drinks, drink packages, specialty restaurants and spa treatments. This charge applies to the price of the package itself, so it adds up fast.

Worked example. A drink package at $79 per person per day, for 2 adults on a 7-night cruise, costs $1,106. Royal Caribbean adds 20%, which is $221.20, for a total of $1,327.20. That is more than the two of you pay in daily gratuities on the same cruise ($259 at $18.50 per night).

  • 20%: Royal Caribbean, Carnival, NCL, Celebrity, Princess, Holland America (drinks and dining), Margaritaville at Sea and Oceania (drinks and spa).
  • 18%: Disney (bar, adult dining and spa), Cunard (bars and spa), Holland America (spa), Windstar (a la carte drinks) and Seabourn (spa).
  • 15% to 18%: MSC is reported to charge 18% on US dollar ships and 15% on euro ships. It does not publish this on its service charge page.
  • 0%: Virgin Voyages adds nothing to drinks, dining or spa. Its daily gratuity is the only one you pay.

Most lines bill the drink package for every adult in the cabin, for every night. Enter the price before service charge and the number of adults buying it, and the calculator applies the right percentage.

Kids, solo travellers and back-to-back cruises

Children. The rules vary more than any other part of the policy. Carnival charges from age 2 and NCL from age 3. MSC charges nothing under 2 and has reduced child rates that depend on the region and when you booked: in the Mediterranean, children aged 2 to 17 pay €10 a night instead of €12 for bookings made from 2 July 2026. Disney and Margaritaville charge infants and children the full rate. Royal Caribbean, Celebrity, Princess, Holland America and Cunard publish no child exemption, so plan for every guest to be charged.

Solo. Gratuities are per guest, so a solo traveller pays one share, not a cabin rate. A solo guest on a 7-night Royal Caribbean cruise pays $129.50 in a non-suite cabin.

Back-to-back. Each sailing is charged on its own, at that line’s rate, for its own nights. Use “Add another cruise segment” for each leg. Two 7-night Princess cruises for two adults in a standard cabin come to $504 in crew appreciation ($18 × 2 guests × 14 nights).

Who to tip in cash on top

Cash tips are your choice. These are typical amounts reported by cruise writers, not cruise line rules:

  • Pier porters: about $1 to $5 per bag when you drop luggage at the terminal.
  • Shore excursion guides: about $5 per person for a half-day tour and $10 for a full day, plus around $2 for the driver.
  • Butlers and concierges: on lines where they do not share the service charge, such as NCL, some guests tip at the end. No typical amount is published.
  • A crew member who went further: a cash envelope on the last night is common. It is entirely up to you.

Bring small notes; the calculator suggests how many $1 and $5 bills to carry. For restaurants, taxis and hotels on land in your ports, use our Global Tipping Calculator for tipping in port cities on land.

Cruise lines with gratuities included

These lines build gratuities into the fare, so the calculator returns $0 for the daily charge. You may still pay a service charge on spa treatments or extras.

  • AIDA Cruises: Bar drinks are not in the fare.
  • Marella Cruises: gratuities included in the fare.
  • P&O Cruises (UK): Tipping is included in the price of your holiday, so nothing is added on board. P&O Cruises Australia closed in March 2025 and is not listed.
  • TUI Cruises (Mein Schiff) (partly confirmed): Booking agents list tips as included in Mein Schiff fares (Premium All Inclusive). We could not open an official TUI Cruises page that states it; confirm before sailing.
  • Azamara: All onboard gratuities are included in every cruise fare. Some Azamara terms word it as gratuities for housekeeping, dining and bar staff.
  • Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines: Gratuities are included on Freedom Fares for 2026 cruises. Check Saver Fare terms.
  • Oceania Cruises: Gratuities for stateroom and suite attendants, butlers and dining staff are in the fare. Beverage purchases and spa services carry a 20% service gratuity.
  • Explora Journeys: Gratuities are part of the fare. Destination Experiences and some premium food and drink cost extra.
  • Regent Seven Seas Cruises: All gratuities are included except for Serene Spa and Wellness services.
  • Seabourn: Optional spa and salon services carry an 18% gratuity that is not in the fare.
  • Silversea: Onboard gratuities are in All-Inclusive fares. Older terms exclude spa gratuities; check your voyage terms.
  • The Ritz-Carlton Yacht Collection: Gratuities for restaurant, bar and housekeeping staff are included. Salon, spa and shore excursion tips are voluntary.
  • Scenic (river): All tipping and gratuities on board and on shore are included.
  • Uniworld Boutique River Cruises: Gratuities for ship staff, crew and the Cruise or Tour Manager are included. In Asia, Egypt and Peru, onshore staff gratuities are included too.
  • HX (Hurtigruten Expeditions): HX includes gratuities and does not add discretionary charges to your bill.
  • Lindblad Expeditions: Included on listed ships. On the others, crew gratuities are extra and no amount is published here.

Regional exceptions. Celebrity includes the service charge on sailings from Australia and New Zealand. Princess charges no crew appreciation to Australian or New Zealand residents on voyages departing those regions. Viking’s UK Inclusive Value lists onboard gratuities as included for UK bookings, while its US terms say gratuities are extra. P&O Cruises Australia, which did not charge gratuities, closed in March 2025 and is not listed.

Paying gratuities in GBP, AUD or EUR

Most big-ship lines bill gratuities in US dollars even on European sailings, because the ship’s account runs in dollars. MSC bills euros on Mediterranean and Northern Europe itineraries. P&O Cruises, Ambassador and Marella price in pounds.

If your card is in another currency, your bank converts each charge and may add a foreign transaction fee, often around 2.75% to 3%. Set “Show totals in” to your home currency, enter today’s exchange rate from your bank or card provider, and add your card’s fee to see the real cost. The calculator never fetches live rates.

Watch for dynamic currency conversion. If the ship offers to bill your account in your home currency, the exchange rate is usually worse than your card’s. Paying in the ship’s currency is often cheaper. A travel card with no FX fee helps too, as does an eSIM if you want to avoid the ship’s Wi-Fi charges in port.

Can you remove or change automatic gratuities?

On most lines you can, on board, before your account closes. Royal Caribbean and Celebrity say you can modify or remove any gratuity at Guest Relations until the morning of disembarkation. Princess lets you adjust crew appreciation until you settle your onboard account, and after that it is final and non-refundable. Holland America and Cunard allow adjustments on board; Cunard handles them at the Purser’s Office. Disney’s Guest Services can remove or adjust its optional gratuities.

Some charges cannot be changed. MSC’s Hotel Service Charge is a mandatory part of the fare. Margaritaville at Sea describes its charges as fixed and applied to every guest. Holland America’s 20% and 18% service charges on purchases are separate from the adjustable daily amount.

The daily charge makes up part of crew pay on these lines. If something goes wrong, the lines ask you to raise it with Guest Services during the cruise so they can fix it.

Cruise gratuity FAQ

How much are cruise gratuities per day?
Most big-ship lines charge $16 to $25 per guest per night. Royal Caribbean is $18.50 ($21 in suites), Carnival $17 ($19), NCL $20 ($25), Princess $18 to $20, Celebrity $19.50 to $24.50, Disney $16 ($27.25 in Concierge) and Virgin Voyages $22, or $20 prepaid. MSC charges EUR 12 or US$17 depending on the region. Luxury lines such as Regent, Silversea and Seabourn include gratuities in the fare.
How much should I budget for tips on a 7-night cruise?
For two adults on a mainstream line, budget about $230 to $350 in daily gratuities: $259 on Royal Caribbean, $238 on Carnival or $280 on NCL. Add 18% to 20% of anything you buy, including drink packages, which can double the total. If you tip porters and tour guides in cash, add roughly $30 to $60 more. The calculator works out your exact figure.
Are cruise gratuities mandatory?
It depends on the line. On Royal Caribbean, Celebrity, Princess, Holland America, Cunard and Disney you can adjust or remove the daily amount on board before your account closes. MSC’s Hotel Service Charge is mandatory and part of the fare, and Margaritaville at Sea describes its charges as fixed. The 18% to 20% on drinks and purchases is a separate charge and is not always adjustable.
Should I prepay gratuities, and does prepaying lock in the rate?
On most lines prepaying costs the same as paying on board. It locks the rate only where the line says so: Carnival guests who prepaid before the 2 April 2026 rise kept $16, Princess guests who prepaid before 8 March 2026 paid $1 less, and Virgin Voyages charges $20 prepaid instead of $22. Check refund rules first; Virgin’s prepaid gratuity is non-refundable.
Do children pay cruise gratuities?
Often, yes. Disney, Margaritaville at Sea, Royal Caribbean, Celebrity, Princess and Cunard charge every guest regardless of age. Carnival starts at age 2 and NCL at age 3. MSC is free under 2 and has lower child rates by region: EUR 10 a night for ages 2 to 17 in Europe on bookings from 2 July 2026. Enter each child’s age in the calculator to apply the right rule.
Do I still pay gratuities if I have a drink package?
Yes. A drink package does not replace the daily gratuity, and most lines add 18% to 20% to the package price itself. On Royal Caribbean, a $79 per day package for two adults over 7 nights carries $221.20 in service charge. Celebrity’s All Included fare and Princess Plus and Premier include that package service charge. Virgin Voyages adds nothing to drinks.
Which cruise lines include gratuities in the fare?
Regent Seven Seas, Silversea, Seabourn, Explora Journeys, the Ritz-Carlton Yacht Collection, Oceania, Azamara, P&O Cruises (UK), Marella, AIDA, Fred. Olsen on Freedom Fares, HX, Uniworld, Scenic and Lindblad on most of its ships include them. Some still add a gratuity to spa treatments. Viking includes them for UK bookings, and Celebrity includes them on sailings from Australia and New Zealand.
Do I pay gratuities for the last day of the cruise?
No. Lines charge per night on board. The night you embark counts and the morning you disembark does not, so a 7-night cruise means 7 nightly charges even though it spans 8 calendar days. On a back-to-back cruise, each sailing is charged for its own nights at that line’s rate.
Can I use onboard credit to pay gratuities?
Usually, if the gratuities post to your onboard account rather than being prepaid. Cunard confirms that onboard credit can pay its hotel charge. Rules differ by line and by promotion, and some credit cannot be used for gratuities, so check the terms of your credit. If you have non-refundable credit, letting gratuities charge on board is one way to use it.
Do UK or Australian passengers pay cruise gratuities?
UK passengers on US lines pay the same daily US dollar amounts as everyone else. P&O Cruises, Marella and Fred. Olsen on Freedom Fares include tips, and Viking includes them for UK bookings. In Australia, Princess charges no crew appreciation to Australian and New Zealand residents on local voyages, Celebrity includes the charge on sailings from there, and Carnival’s Australian ships add no daily gratuity.
What happens to prepaid gratuities if I cancel?
NCL says prepaid service charges are 100% refundable if you cancel, and Disney refunds prepaid gratuities in full to the original payment method. Virgin Voyages’ prepaid gratuity is non-refundable. Princess treats gratuities bundled into a package as part of the fare, refunded under its cancellation policy. For other lines, read your booking terms, and check whether your travel insurance covers prepaid extras.
Do you tip on a river cruise?
Uniworld and Scenic include gratuities, and Viking includes them on UK bookings. AmaWaterways suggests EUR 125 per guest for the crew and EUR 30 for the Cruise Manager on a 7-night cruise, which is about EUR 22 a night. Avalon says crew and Cruise Director tips are discretionary but publishes no amount. On US Viking bookings, gratuities are extra.

About this tool

Every rate in this calculator comes from one data file with the cruise line’s official source page, the date a change took effect and the date we last checked it. We re-open each official page before publishing an update. Trade press is used only for the dates and history of changes. Where a line does not publish a figure, the calculator says so and asks for the amount on your booking. 27 of 33 lines are confirmed against an official page; the rest are marked “Partly confirmed”. The maths runs in your browser, so nothing you enter is sent to a server.

Related tools: plan the rest of the trip with the travel budget calculator, the packing list generator and the insurance checklist, or browse all Boarding Gate tools.

About this tool. This free Boarding Gate tool gives estimates and general guidance to help you plan. Cruise lines change gratuities and service charges, sometimes with little notice, so always confirm with your cruise line or booking before you sail. Built and maintained by Raja Qaiser.

Scroll to Top